Home

On Friday 24th July on BBC 2 the Artsnight show I curated will air.

I chose to talk to 4 people who blow apart CP Snow’s theory from the 1950s that the humanities and sciences operate without any understanding of each other.

I start with the incredible Nonny de la Pena – the so called godmother of virtual reality who creates immersive journalistic experiences enabling people to feel what it’s like in the current news stories. She’s done lots of work on Syria which is really interesting.
You can see her work here : http://nonnydelapena.com

@immersivejourno

Next up I interviewed a hero of mine – David Mitchell. I was nervous because I love his books and was in awe of him but he was delightful. I’m a moron because I forgot to take any of my copies for him to sign. David has written his latest novel – Slade House using Twitter and we talked a lot about the influence of the Internet.

The next interviewee was VERY hard to secure – my stepfather Charles jencks 🙂

He  builds extraordinary land art. His latest project is over a disused coal mine in  Scotland  http://www.crawickmultiverse.co.uk never one to shy away from a huge complex subject Charles has tried to represent not only the known universe in the landscape but the latest theories of the unknown.

It’s absolutely fantastic and although it was pouring and windy when we visited the brilliant production team got some lovely drone footage on a more sunny day.

Last but definitely not least I went to see Dame Stephanie Shirley at the school she built for autistic children – priors court.

http://www.priorscourt.org.uk

Dame Stephanie is remarkable. She built a software company in the 1970s and now devotes her considerable philanthropy to autism – in part because of the death of her autistic son Giles.

I have always respected her and have been so lucky to get to know her over the last few years but I had no idea she loved contemporary art as much as she does. The school is full of it and it’s magical.

So, lucky me – what a joy to pick 4 awesome people and get to chat.

I’m sure it was hideous hard work for the Artsnight team but thank you to janet lee the exec producer and particularly Hannah Robson my wonderful friend and in this instance wonderful producer.

Please watch, I think its fun.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b063k1ff/artsnight-series-2-5-martha-lane-fox

5 thoughts on “Artsnight challenge 

  1. Sorry but I really think tonight’s show was really poor and the end credits were! Well they were poor. Was I being told what is art or being shown art. I can’t decide. They were thought provoking, they made me think I was wasting my licence fee on this shit.. Please show me art not what someone thinks it should be.

  2. I really enjoyed this programme Martha.

    It resonated with me particularly as my goal in life is to help align the worlds of art and tech, also to make a connection between the sciences and spiritual knowledge…

    I’m an artist, animator and have made some very basic diy tech devices, here are some videos about what I do: https://www.youtube.com/williamreardon

    I’d love to hear some feedback.

    Many thanks,
    Will

  3. I absolutely love your blopg and find manny
    of yojr post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write related to here.
    Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

