Home

This week I have spent my first week in
the House of Lords. It’s been extraordinary – baffling, overwhelming but also challenging and remarkable. Two things have struck me deeply how hard most peers work – scrutinising legislation until late into the night and secondly what an amazing collective brain the house is. I am keeping quiet, listening and learning how the system works. I hope I can contribute something to this unique institution – but it’s quite a feat even to work out the floor plan.
Everyone has been very friendly and I much enjoyed this whiteboard in the whips office – as an ancient historian it made me laugh…

20130426-080252.jpg

One thought on “First week in the Lords

  1. I had a grand day out in parliament last year. I was moved by the nobility/tradition/inspiration of that little piece of the world, and all that has gone on there. This humble little whiteboard captures that exactly.

Leave a Reply

