Home

My rollercoaster role as UK Digital Champion will now see me Chair two new boards:

The Digital Advisory Board announced by Francis Maude today will challenge the Government to provide better services for users and is the next step on the journey to acheiving ‘Digital by Default’ services and information provision across Government.

Go ON UK – is a radical new partnership organisation that aims to bring the benefits of the internet to every individual, organisation and community across the UK.

The Go ON UK Board has set itself an extraordinary challenge.  For the first time a national broadcaster, bank, utility company, telecoms provider, community retail network, charity and funder have come together to solve a social problem by helping the UK to become the world’s most digitally capable nation with everyone able to enjoy the social, economic and cultural benefits of the internet. To achieve this, our founding partners: Age UK, BBC, Big Lottery Fund, E.ON, Lloyds Banking Group, Post Office and Talk Talk have each pledged to share their expertise, resources, reach and networks by encouraging every organisation and every individual in the UK to join them on this mission.

Together, we will raise awareness of these benefits and work across sectors to put in place the practical steps needed to support those people and organisations at risk of being left behind. This is a huge but exciting challenge, which can only be achieved through an effective national cross sector partnership. I hope you will give us feedback, come and visit us and join the work as we strive towards our ambition.

The launch of Go ON UK means that Race Online 2012 will now formally ends.  It was always meant to be a short-term campaign that raised awareness of the issues and brought organisations together but even I could not have imagined the momentum and impact that it has created. This is entirely due to the incredible partners that supported us. I thank you all very much.   Capgemini have done an independent evaluation of our work so far, if you are interested – click here to read more.
 
I would never have been able to achieve all of this without my incredible team – in particular Leigh Smyth and Graham Walker. They are off to conquer the world but I thank them very profoundly for enduring me and the rollercoaster that has been the last 3 years. Their energy, tenacity and sage advice has been invaluable and I feel lucky to have worked in such a team.
 
You can read all about the founder partners here. I will chair Go On UK and we have a fabulous new CEO Marketa Mach starting work on the 1st of May.

2 thoughts on “It’s been an exciting week so far..

  1. I was so inspired by your lecture this evening, that I promise you I will, join the silver surfers and really learn how to become able to use the internet in a worthwhile educational way.I am a 66 year old OAP, and support what you say that internet should be taught to all, and made to be of benefit to all, As a woman, I despair of how the major players are men, as they do not see the vision you see, that all of us can get help, and care if we do as you said this evening. Thank you for making me feel proud to be a women. who can help support you.by getting myself educated in this technology, rather than having my grandson giving me lessons, bless him, he keeps telling me “nan you have to learn this” I will use my vote only for the party that supports what you are trying to do, to save this country, and make us all proud again. You give me hope.

Leave a Reply

